Knightly Indiscretions

First, I must apologize to most of you. I know you only started reading because “hot man in armor” and “sex” flashed through your brains. Sadly, this isn’t the title of a trashy chivalric romance.
At least, not the kind you were expecting.

Indeed, I’m thinking first and foremost about Ritter Sport, the best chocolate company this side of Heaven. A German company, Ritter (or “knight” in German) has been tickling my palate since 2004.

So what? I’ve been eating chocolate from other companies for a lot longer. I’ve had everything from Hershey’s to Ferrero Rocher. Everything from Ghirardelli to See’s Candies. Everything from Lindt to the small business confectioner. Basically, I’ve had a lot of awesome. But the funny thing is, I’m not that excited about chocolate. I don’t even particularly like the stuff. I find it too rich for my normal palate – the exact same reason I don’t care for cake.

Why, then, would I get excited about a chocolate company at all? Simply because Ritter Sport does it for me. I’m not saying I want to hit it every single day – but when I get one in the mail…well, let’s just say it’s hard to resist. Their chocolate has a smooth, creamy texture, and the fillings are never TOO much. They also don’t wax their chocolate or change their recipe just because it’s sold abroad (practices I find abhorrent in certain large companies). Oh, and it’s already divided into perfect little squares. It’s never too much, and never too little. Furthermore, they tickle my sense of culinary adventure. Ever tried corn flakes in your chocolate? Neither have I! It seems like they’re constantly experimenting and coming out with new flavors. And of course, they’re considerate enough to make tiny variety packs so you can try them all.

Favorites:
Rum Trauben Nuss (“rum raisin hazelnut”)
Marzipan (be still my heart….)
Peppermint (spicy, yet sweet)

Bonus: Their website doesn’t suck.

http://www.ritter-sport.us/#/en_US/home

Leave a Reply

